My Personal List

I don’t know if I would say 2009 was a great year for films, or any of that. Quality wise, it was pretty average. There were some fantastic films, while others simply were horrendous. Monetarily, it was a fantastic year with seven films released in this year making the list of the top 50 highest grossing films of all time.

I don’t particularly care about the money that was made by movie people in higher places, but what I do care about is having great films to carry through the year. I’m going to make a list (probably not complete) of the films that I thought were worth watching this year. This list is in totally randm order, so don’t read into it. Here goes!

Taken – starring Liam Neeson, a pure revenge film. Fun and fast paced. For those who like action.

Coraline – directed by Henry Selick, this film is worth watching not for it’s boring plot, and undeveloped characters but for the pure joy of watching it’s animation sparkle and engross. For plot, I recommend the book.

Star Trek – I can’t speak for the trekkies out there, but not being one of them, I thoroughly enjoyed this witty, action packed film. A must see for this year.

Up – directed by Pete Doctor and Bob Peterson, quite possibly one of the best movies I have seen all year. It will make you laugh, and cry, all in it’s short run. Fantastic job again Pixar.

The Proposal – starring Sandra Bullock, not one of the fine films of the year, but a great romantic comedy. Completely formula, this movie still makes me smile.

Harry Potter 6 – I am completely biased when it comes to Harry Potter films since I am a huge fan of the books, but when it comes to the sixth movie, I approve. Dumbledore finally redeems himself as being correctly cast. Probably the best of the Potter movies.

District 9 – Directed by Neill Blomkamp, this low budget, South African filmed movie is perfect in almost every way. Really no more to say. A definite must see.

Inglourious Basterds – Directed by Tarrantino, this movie truly displays what is fantastic about one of my favorite directors. His gorey scenes, and quip witty dialogue make this film a great watch.

Whip It – directed by Drew Barrymore, this movie is plain fun, fun, fun. With a serious twist that absolutely works, I would recommend this to anyone, whether romantic hearted, or otherwise.

Avatar – directed by James Cameron, read the review (simply fantastic)

Sherlock Holmes – directed by Guy Ritchie, read the review (not great, but still worth watching)

Drag Me To Hell – Now, I know what you’re thinking. This girl is crazy, why would I listen to her advice. This movie is absolutely fun, I hate horror films, and I loved this movie. It was scary in the more humorous way, and I recommend it to the horror-seeking part of everyone.

The Hangover – a baby in avaitors. Must I say more? This movie is hysterical.

I’m sure I missed a million movies, but these are the ones I remember that are worth watching. Not all are classics, and some are just there because they are a great laugh or an easy romance. These are the ones which I deem watchable of 2009. We hope there is more to come in 2010!

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal Opinion

Leave a Reply

