Another Opening, Another Show

For the past few weeks, and for the next couple of weeks I am overwhelmed with the musical that I am playing for. Since I don’t have time to see any movies, and in honor of the musical that I’m in, I thought I’d do a post on my favorite musical movies! Action!

West Side Story This movie is perfect. Starring Natalie Wood, the music is abolustely brilliant (By Stephen Sondheim and Leonard Bernstein), the Jerome Robbins choreography inspiring, and the Romeo and Juliet is timeless. One of the most amazing movies I’ve ever seen.

Singin’ In The Rain I know I talked about this one in one of my previous posts, but it truly is one of my favorites. Really anything with Gene Kelley is great. A great singer, and dancer, his choreography in the ballet scene ending the film is spectacular. Some others of his I recommend are An American In Paris, and Brigadoon.

Sweeney Todd Who knew Johnny Depp could sing! Well now we all do. This movie is so Burton-esque, any fan of his work should see it (and I garuntee will love it). The movie is extremely well cast, and all of the characters work terrifically together. The horrific sadness of the plot is perfectly balances with a bittersweet, dark, humor. Just a great film overall!

Kiss Me Kate This I only include on the list because it’s the musical that my high school is producing this year. The story of a musical within a musical is a little cliche, but the juxtaposition between modern day and Shakespeare puts an interesting twist on things. Starring Ann Miller, it’s kind of a silly movie, but fun just the same.

Other greats that make the list but not in detail are the classics The Sound of Music, Grease, The Wizard of Oz and Mary Poppins. Who cares how many times you’ve heard Judy Garland belt out her song about the rainbow, or watched John Travolta do a split, it really just never gets old!

To all those in the production of Kiss Me Kate, break a leg!

Leave a comment

Filed under general suggestions

Leave a Reply

