J’aime la musique de France!

I have no idea that translation is correct because when I first typed in “I love French music” to google, it translated it to “I love music française” which I’m pretty sure isn’t correct, and I don’t speak French.

Besides the fact that I don’t French (I take Spanish) and while I love Spanish music too, it juts simply does not have the same Bohemian, tre chic, French feel that French music does! So, I thought since I’ve kind of begun to deviate from film a lot anyway, I might as well through in a post about my love of French music.

I think my favorite artists is Carla Bruni, who I found while looking through one of those famous people playlists on iTunes, this one coming from the list of January Jones (Betty Draper on the amazing, and my all-time favorite show Mad Men). My favorite song of hers is Quelqu’un m’a dit, but I also like Raphaël, Le plus beau du quartier, as well as many others. Although I only have one of her albums, (Quelqu’un m’a dit), I hope to acquire more of her music soon!

Another artists I found through searching French pop on iTunes is Amélie-les-crayons. Her stuff is limited, but her song Ta p’tite flamme is one of my absolute favorites!

I discovered Juliette Gréco through the film An Education, and although I only have two of her songs, I am in love. Her songs are so reminiscent of ’60s Paris that I want to yell! I wish I could go back to that time–the clothing, the music, the lifestyle. All absolutely fantastique!

So this concludes my French music rant. If anyone has any recommendations I would gladly accept them, since I am craving more all the time! Also, as a general suggestion, the soundtrack to An Education is absolutely fabulous. Perhaps I shall do a blog post on movie soundtracks shortly! That should be a long post… Watch out 😛

1 Comment

Filed under Personal Opinion, Uncategorized

One response to “J’aime la musique de France!

  1. “La Vie en Rose” is required listening. Ditto “La Marseilleise.” Maybe I’ll sing them for you sometime?

    For modern French music, check out The Plastiscines. They’re adorable!

Leave a Reply

