Detail, sparkle hut!

As my lack of blogging indicates, I have been away for the past few days. I just returned today from what is known as DMA (Drum Major Academy). Since I’m going to be the drum major of my marching band next year, it’s a definite necessity to learn to conduct, march and lead properly! Well, if you know anything about marching band it’s all about the intensity and as any good marching band camp should, this one truly breeds compassion and intensity about the band. I am so pumped, it’s hard to explain. It was a fantastic experience though. Extremely intense (waking up at 6 and returning to dorms at 11) it was extremely exhausting. My arms hurt so much from conducting and I’m completely sun burnt from standing in the sun for hours at a time. George N. Parks is a terrific leader who has so much energy I’m sometimes not sure how to respond to him! Daily routine includes march-offs, conducting and learning different marching commands. My absolutely favorite is the salute. I can not wait to get in front of an audience at a football game and salute, having the audience cheer for me. I really hope that I’m a good drum major–so wish me luck!

I don’t know if this happens to other people (probably) but when something that I’m passionate about and part of is in movies, I’m always like, OH!! I DO THAT!! and you get so excited?! Yes!! So, because I’m so high on marching band right now, I’m going to go through some movies that have marching bands in them (some of them only appear for a minute, but since there aren’t really that many movies about marching bands, we’re going to have to deal). Detail, begin post!

Drumline (2002): This movie isn’t the greatest, I have to admit. Starring Nick Cannon and Zoe Saldana, it’s just fun if you’re in a band. Of course, it focuses on the drum line (which is the part the drums are in, incredibly, not the rest of the band) so if you’re not a percussionist it’s a little, well.. it leaves something to be desired, but it is fun. It’s really the only movie I know about marching bands and their intensity and what they’re all about, so I have to give it props for that. I think my band has watched this together multiple times every season, so it’s a band staple.

Never Been Kissed (1999): This movie is fantastic for so many reasons. Drew Barrymore, REALLY hot love interest who faded out and is no longer famous (Michael Vartan), cheesy ending, romantic storyline, improbable occurrences, really cute, misleading ideas about love. It’s terrific. I am perfectly aware it is not about a marching band, but when Barrymore is trying to find her car there is a band practicing on the field, and if I remember correctly they are playing the Simpsons’ theme song (quite horridly I might add). Not all bands are that bad people. Really. If you don’t believe me, go look at this band. Or this band. And this band too.

10 Things I Hate About You (1999): There are, again, SO many reasons this movie is amazing. Heath Ledger, Shakespeare references, cute, amazing ending, misleading ideas about love, cheesy and adorable (and a shot to the heart of any hopeless romantic), and Heath Ledger. When Ledger serenades Julia Stiles at her soccer rehearsal he gets a marching band to play the background music to his lovely singing. It’s hardly a movie about marching bands, but don’t you love those moments when you’re watching and go HEY I DO THAT!! Like when the town you live in is mentioned in a movie? (Every time something is filmed or set in Boston, it’s like they did it for us, you know?). I love it. Great movie.

So far that’s all I have for marching bands. Of course, I could go through a pick out a million movies like the last two I talked about with glimpses of marching bands, but these stick out (probably because I love the two movies SO MUCH). What makes you excited when you watch a movie? What makes you go, OH YEAH!! when you watch?

Leave a comment

Filed under general suggestions, random

Leave a Reply

