Eat, Pray, Love, (Think).

Today I went with a good friend to see Eat, Pray, Love. No, I have not read the book so don’t go all wacky on me. Although the movie was a little too long, the ending a little too abrupt and there was a lot of other moments that were unnecessary I have come to realize that is not the point of this movie.

There is a word in German, one that means an inability to settle and a need to travel, one that very much defines my personality. This film reminded me of that.

Just a little side note. Anyway, the movie is about love and finding yourself. It’s about the ability to balance loving others and yourself. Do we need to love others to love ourselves? Do we need to find love for ourselves in other people? Veering away from the film, I suppose that it evokes different things in everyone. In myself, I couldn’t help asking questions like will I even ever find love? Will someone ever love me and will I have the ability to love them back, knowing that I don’t love myself? It’s an interesting question. The movie, although some may say had a “lack of plot line” was actually plot line enough, I believe. The scenery is beautiful and the parts in Rome made me so sick for traveling that my heart began to ache, not in a sad, heartbreak sort of way, but an admiration of beauty and difference, and love kind of way. Although it’s true there isn’t much action, it’s a process of discovery and it evokes this process in everyone.

What is my word? I have yet to figure that out, but I hope that one day I can say with assurance that one word is mine. Of course lufthansa may stay mine for some time, but who knows what it will be in the future?

School started on Wednesday and I’m already feeling lost. Finding balance really is the key to it all. Of course, taking many APs and doing as many extracurriculars as there are hours in the day doesn’t help this balance. I think the point of the movie is to look at ourselves. Who am I, and why am I here? What do I want to do? How will I be happy?

I wrote in a post before about happiness and how fleeting it is, but I think that’s only because I haven’t found it yet. I hope that everyone can find at least a little happiness in their life, and with a life filled so far with so much sadness, I hope that my life ahead is filled with happiness as well. And I don’t think that’s conceited. I think we should all wish ourselves happiness. I wish you happiness.

1 Comment

Filed under Personal Opinion, random, Review: new

One response to “Eat, Pray, Love, (Think).

  1. First off, I’ve been hearing a lot about this movie. I should probably go see it. Secondly, I wanted to share a quote with you. “The salvation of man is through love and in love. I understood how a man who has nothing left in this world still may know bliss, be it only for a brief moment, in the contemplation of his beloved.” I was going to write a post about it later, but you get a sneak peak I guess.

Leave a Reply

