Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1

Okay, so I don’t really want to do a formal review of Harry Potter because it’s Harry Potter. So there’s your reasoning for going to see it. But I’ll do some bullet points and comments.

I think this is the best HP movie so far–and I’m not just saying that. The cinematography is absolutely fantastic. It scares the shit of you, but also makes you cry. From the very beginning until the very end I was sitting at the end of my chair, waiting. I even knew what was going to happen and it was still just as exciting and riveting as when I read the book.

The acting has gotten so much better from past movies. I am very anti-Daniel Radcliffe (in the books Harry has this great sense of humor and is actually funny and likeable while in the movies he comes off as an idiot asshole who is too stiff and serious) but I actually didn’t mind him in this. Emma Watson is fantastic as always, and so is Rupert Grint. All the adults are always amazing. The Malfoy family is a particular favorite of mine–they all do such a great job portraying the pathetic, weak and frightened nature of each character. Another of my absolute favorites: Ralph Fiennes. I have become overwhelmingly obsessed with this brilliant actor. In real life, he looks like this:

Let’s be real here, he’s absolutely gorgeous. In the movies, he looks like this:

Okay, so not gorgeous, but absolutely fantastic. The way that Fiennes plays Voldemort is brilliant. His very soothing, soft, calm voice makes him that much more frightening when he does something evil. I also always pictured Voldemort that way–although he is the dark lord, he is a brilliant wizard, and an incredibly intelligent man, especially to have done what he has with his followers, etc. I was worried that whoever took on the role would behave like a raving lunatic, angry and violent, but Fiennes does it perfectly: calm, thoughtful, brilliant and ever so frightening. I watched Schindler’s List not but a week ago, and although I had seen Fiennes in the HP movies, and also in various other random roles (The Reader, The Constant Gardener) I had never seen him in such a role, and he did it brilliantly. So, new actor obsession? I think you can guess.

So I think those are all of my comments. It’s brilliant and you should definitely go see it right now. Also, you shouldn’t see it if you haven’t read the books because that is the stupidest thing I’ve ever heard.

Also, if you’re on twitter, I recommend following @lord_voldemort7. I don’t know who he is, but he’s absolutely HYSTERICAL. And if you’re in the mood, you should follow me!! @mskatrinagray. Hope to see you folks there 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under featured actor, Personal Opinion, review, Review: new

Leave a Reply

