Holiday Movie Season

Finally, the post I have been talking about!! Of course I will get to the actual movies, but just a quick little plug for my marching band: http://www.wickedlocal.com/needham/news/lifestyle/x1617321173/Needham-High-School-marching-band-set-to-perform-on-Thanksgiving-Day. Go read 🙂

Alright, NOW on to the movies:

Burlesque: I’m not really sure about this one. Starring Christinia Agueliria and Cher, it could be either be a fun fluff movie filled with some great music, singing and dancing, or a movie that takes itself far too seriously and completely flops. Preview here!

Love and Other Drugs: So far, the reviews haven’t been great. I’m going to try to not go off of reviews for this thing and just say how it looked in the previews because I think it’s more fun that way. I love Jake but I’m not such a huge fan of Anne. Overall, I AM a fan of the rom com, but again not sure about this. I haven’t seen a good rom com in awhile, so it’ll be risky but worth seeing. Preview here!

The King’s Speech: Huge fan of Colin Firth and many are saying this could be his Oscar year. Helena Bonham Carter also stars. Definitely one to check out if you’re in the mood for something serious and Oscar-like (which we all know means a little artsy, a little preachy [sometimes] and always very serious). It actually looks kind of funny, and I think that there should be a great balance between serious and humor. This is a personal must-see. Preview here!

Black Swan: I have read some reviews of this too weirdly since it doesn’t come out until December 1st, and I’m not sure what to think. The ad looks interesting–a combo between a fairy tale and a nightmare. Natalie Portman is usually great, and it’s definitely artsy if you’re in the mood for again, something Oscar-y, then this is the movie for you. Preview here!

How Do You Know: The ads for this one haven’t been great, but Paul Rudd is hilarious, Reese Witherspoon can be good (although sometimes I find her a tad annoying), Owen Wilson is also funny, and Jack Nicholson is classic. This is a rom com that I’ll definitely be heading out to see (maybe more com than rom…). Preview here!

Tangled: I know, I know, I’m five. But I do generally enjoy cartoons. This one, to be honest, looks a little repulsive and I’m not sure that I’ll go see it, considering there are so many other ones out there, but it’s kind of a cute idea so if you have some young ones I’d say yes. Preview here!

The Fighter: Every one who grows up in working-class Boston, grows up, makes a movie ABOUT working-class Boston and it’s their best film (coughBENAFFLECKcough). So here’s Mark Wahlbergs! Being from Boston it’s always kind of fun though. All I have to say about that one. Oh, and Christian Bale is in it too. Solid. Preview here!

Of course, there are considerably more movies coming out in the upcoming months, and lots more beyond that. These are just kind of the ones that have been in the spotlight and also a few of the ones that I plan on seeing. For me, The King’s Speech, Black Swan, and Love and Other Drugs are ones that if not definitely plan on seeing than are just generally on my list. What movies are you guys heading out to see this holiday season?

Leave a comment

Filed under general suggestions, Upcoming Films

Leave a Reply

