Currently Listening to…

I find that my music taste can be pretty scattered, but with the holidays coming up I thought I would share with everyone what I was listening to. Plus I think it’s just fun to share, don’t you??

Tchaikovsky’s Swan Lake: Although I’ve been listening to this music for years, after watching Black Swan I was reminded how beautiful it is. It’s one of the only pieces of music that can give me chills. It’s right up there with Beethoven’s Pastoral Symphony, pretty much anything Bach and Stravinsky’s Firebird. Although most of the piece is waltz’s and fast-paced at that, which are beautifully written and have amazing melodies, it’s then that oboe hits it’s climax and descends that it’s simply heart-wrenching.

Vince Guaraldi: Although I know that he does a lot of stuff, all I’ve been listening to by him is the Charlie Brown Christmas soundtrack! I listen to it year round, it’s that good. How can you NOT love this smooth jazz? So soothing and heart warming, there is nothing better than to put on this CD, get a mug of hot chocolate and simply look outside at the snow.

Burlesque: Okay, I know, I know. I said it was awful. But what a guilty pleasure this turned out to be. Christina Aguilera’s voice is amazingly powerful, it has so much strength it’s unbelievable. Cher is, well, not so great so I tend to skip those songs, but Express, Show Me How You Burlesque and But I Am A Good Girl have been on repeat for hours.

Firework by Katy Perry: This one song has really hit a nerve with me. I’m not sure what, but it has. Last week it was Pink’s new single Raise Your Glass (which still is absolutely excellent if you want to go out and listen, definitely do) but Firework has replaced it in my heart as my go to pump up song. It’s excellent.

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal Opinion, random

Leave a Reply

