It’s almost that time again…

It is almost that time of year–the time of year that every movie aficionado waits for, every fashionista loves, and every one who likes to watch stars make fools of themselves adores–OSCAR TIME!

Although the Oscars aren’t until March, the nominations have been announced. You can see a full of list the nominees here! Imdb.com really has become one of my favorite websites, it’s fantastic.

I’m not sure who should win for anything to be honest. Social Network won best picture at the Golden Globes, but the awards don’t really correlate, and The King’s Speech has won best picture as some of the awards that are said to directly correlate to the Oscars, so who knows. Black Swan was a fantastic film, but I don’t think it will win. I think the fight is really between The King’s Speech, The Social Network and maybe True Grit, although, that would be a bit of an upset.

I think that Colin Firth will probably win best actor, but Jeff Bridges was terrific. James Franco was said to be very good also in 127 Hours, which I haven’t seen, but I feel as though he’s a bit of an underdog.

Natalie Portman should win for Black Swan, hands down. There really is no one else who I would put ahead of her at all.

I also think that Christian Bale should win the Oscar for The Fighter. He won the Golden Globe, and I think the race is between him and Geoffrey Rush, although Rush has already won some Oscars and I think overall Bale did give a better performance.

Director is up in the air… no idea, as are the screenplay ones. As far as best animated film, I have to say Toy Story 3 has to win, I’m not really sure how it can’t.

I guess those are really all the ones I have opinions about. The makeup ones are always kind of random, and the music ones seem to always be given to those who I think they shouldn’t be, so I won’t even go there.

Alright, well, get excited! I’ll be keeping you updated on all things Oscar-related. And to those of you who are award show haters, why?? I don’t understand why people get angry or upset when the movie they want to win doesn’t–obviously I’d rather have the one I like to win, but it doesn’t really matter. It’s all about the clothes, the hosts and the hype.

Leave a comment

Filed under events, Personal Opinion

Leave a Reply

