What I’m Diggin’

With the Oscars coming up, there are a million movies I’m planning to see, but movies are nearly the last thing on my mind right now.

The Prospect of Summer: I know that the summer months are far from here, but being a now second-semester senior in high school, all I can think of is graduation and the vacation lull before college. Even though I don’t know where I’m going yet, the general idea of college is hanging in the distance and I can not wait for it to get closer. It’ll be my last summer in North Carolina as a high schooler, and even though my sister won’t be attending this year (because of her stupid camp) I can not wait to get back to the Outer Banks–laying on the beach, island food at night, watching surfers, and reading. Please please come sooner.

Snow Days: And so comes the bitter irony. So far, we have had three snow days and they have been days of pure bliss and relaxation. While I detest the snow, here’s hoping for another day off.

Shakespeare: Ah yes, the master himself. Right now, we’re reading the tragedies and I love it. The rich, sensual yet formal nature of the diction, the classic characters and story-lines, and the beautiful prose make me swoon. Even though some I’ve read, included in this are Hamlet, Macbeth, Othello, King Lear, and Richard IV. I might throw in a few of my own, who knows!

Prom Dresses: Prom is months away, with the excitement is already building. Who doesn’t want to wear the perfect prom dress? I’ve begun the search, but only kind of in my mind. Ordering dresses online has never really worked for me, and so even though I search there, I’m going to have to drag my ass to a store and actually try them on.

The winter is slowly killing me, and these things are only barely pulling me through the icy days. Here’s hoping for something other than clouds and sleet.

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal Opinion, random

Leave a Reply

